Skip Navigation Links Home : Academics : Faculty of Arts and Sciences : Department of English : Seminars : Why interdisciplinary research and approach in translation didactic has become essential and of interest to translation studies
Why interdisciplinary research and approach in translation didactic has become essential and of interest to translation studies

Dr. Al-Hamad gave the second presentation which was attended by most faculty members from the English Department on Wednesday 25th of November from 11:00 to 12:30.
Why interdisciplinary research and approach in translation didactic has become essential and of interest to translation studies? Has the time come to think of how to structure a course with all the relevant text types and tasks for the students/researchers at a given level?
Points for discussion
  • Translation as a well established discipline (not part of Linguistics or Literature tracks).
  • Translation as an interdisciplinary field is fairly a young field of study… as translation is (60 years or so).
  • Translation is conceived in its broadest possible sense and relates not exclusively to processes that are interlingual, but also, for example, to those that are intermedial or intercultural.
  • The definition of the concept Interdisciplinary: The Authoritative Definition of Interdisciplinary Studies (which includes four core concepts—process, disciplines, integra­tion, and a more comprehensive understanding):
Interdisciplinary studies is a process of answering a question, solving a prob­lem, or addressing a topic that is too broad or complex to be dealt with ade­quately by a single discipline, and draws on the disciplines with the goal of integrating their insights to construct a more comprehensive understanding.  
  • The relevance of Interdisciplinary to Translation.
  • Translation theory as an interdisciplinary field: (4.310.000)...Internet articles and books.
  •  To support his discussion, the Lecturer provided (42 Themes) that illustrate the interdisciplinary approach in translation Nowadays.The researcher emphasized a range of evidence that researchers discussed today in their conferences or covered by the study plans away from the traditional topics previously generated from the womb of / or linked to Linguistics. The list includes:
Neuroscience and biochemistry environmental science, nanotechnology, Geobiology, sustainability science and engineering,  psycholinguistics, ethnomusicology, cultural studies, intercultural studies, cross-cultural studies, women’s studies, urban studies, and American studies as mentioned in (Klein, 1990). In Addition, topics range from: Translation and Gender Studies, Strategies to overcome the prevalent hetero/sexism in translation, and Translation from Ethics to Censorship … to Translation and Intercultural Studies, Science and Technology, Economic translation and Crime in Translation… among other issues.
  • Introducing the concepts: (Lecturer/Trainer and the Student/Trainee) in the translation field which re-emphasizes the need to re-think the way the curricular/course plans are structured.
 The importance of drawing the line between the relevance of translation to other disciplines, linguistics in particular and dominance of other fields over translation.
  • Translation as an Interdisciplinary field and its interdisciplinarity with most of the fields of knowledge are evolving dynamic con­cepts that are now mainstream in the academy. Still, many of the translation scholars seem to use the term loosely are unaware of the role of integration and of the goal of tSince 1990 (the beginning of the new Millennium), our globalized world had noticed dramatic changes at all levels.
  • Not only economy has undergone major changes in the 21st century, education also, and even more so, higher education in which we face an Interdisciplinary approach in translation didactics: very strong shift from teaching to learning.
  • This means that teaching has to aim at an individual learning process where the teacher/trainer acts mainly as facilitator.
  • This implies of course that the student/trainee is in the center of the process and no more the trainer: the latter helping mainly in the knowledge and skills transfer, showing how to integrate actively new knowledge into existing knowledge, hence to infer as much as possible.
  • In other words, many trainers have to change their way of teaching and also of structuring their classes.
  • Research wise, interdisciplinarity hence can help us to better results by integrating knowledge from annexed disciplines through new pathways of  processes and practices at the borders of language, the body, law, and the state be rigorously theorised and researched, and research findings effectively represented and evaluated, in a multilingual manner? This could be important to rethink the publishing policies and the type of academic journals that translators publish in by creating a Challenge to linguistic / linguistically mute fields.
The seminar was followed by a fruitful discussion between the faculty member concerning translation as a linguistic study.
Professor Khafaji talked about the importance of linguistics in translation considering the interdisciplinarity nature of translation.

جسرٌ نحو المعرفة
Skip Navigation Links الرئيسية : أكاديمي : كلية الآداب والعلوم : اللغة الإنجليزية وآدابها : ندوات القسم : لماذا أصبح البحث والمنهج متعدد التخصصات أساسياً ومهماً في مجال دراسات الترجمة؟
لماذا أصبح البحث والمنهج متعدد التخصصات أساسياً ومهماً في مجال دراسات الترجمة؟

قدم الدكتور محمد الحمد العرض التقديمي الثاني الذي حضره معظم أعضاء هيئة التدريس من قسم اللغة الإنجليزية والترجمة يوم الأربعاء، الموافق الخامس والعشرين من تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر من الساعة 11:00 إلى الساعة 12:30.
الموضوع
لماذا أصبح البحث والمنهج متعدد التخصصات أساسياً ومهماً في مجال دراسات الترجمة؟ هل حان الوقت للتفكير بخطة لمادة دراسية محتوية على جميع أنواع النصوص ذات الصلة ومهام للطلاب/الباحثين عند مستوى معين؟
نقاط للمناقشة
  • الترجمة كتخصص علمي راسخ (وليس جزءاً من اللغويات أو الأدب).
  • الترجمة كحقل متعدد التخصصات هو مجال علمي جديد (تعود نشأته لمدة 60 عاماً تقريباً).
  • يتم فهم الترجمة بمعناها الأوسع ولا تتعلق بشكل حصري بالعمليات بين لغتين، وإنما على سبيل المثال، بالإجراءات الوسيطة أو بين ثقافتين.
  • تعريف مفهوم تعدد التخصصات: يتمثل التعريف الرسمي للدراسات متعددة التخصصات (ويشمل أربعة مفاهيم أساسية، وهي: العملية، والتخصصات، والدمج، وفهم أكثر شموليةً) بما يلي:
تُعَرَّف الدراسات متعددة التخصصات بأنَّها عملية الإجابة على الاستفسارات، وحل المشاكل، وتناول مواضيع واسعة أو معقدة جداً من خلال تخصص معين بشكل كافٍ والاعتماد على التخصصات الأخرى بهدف دمج أفكارها وتكوين فهم أكثر شمولية.  
  • علاقة تعدد التخصصات بالترجمة.
  • نظرية الترجمة كحقل متعدد التخصصات: (4.310.000) مقالة وكتاب على الإنترنت.
  •  ولإثراء النقاش، طرح الدكتور الحمد (42 موضوعاً) توضح المنهج متعددة التخصصات في الترجمة في الوقت الحاضر. وأكد الدكتور الحمد بأنَّ هناك مجموعة كبيرة من المواضيع التي ناقشها الباحثون عند مشاركتهم في المؤتمرات أو ذكروها في خططهم الدراسية بعيدة عن المواضيع التقليدية التي استمدت سابقاً أو ارتبطت بعلم اللغويات. وتشمل القائمة:
علم الأعصاب، والكيمياء الحيوية، والعلوم البيئية، والتكنولوجيا متناهية الصغر، والجيوبيولوجيا، وعلم الاستدامة، والهندسة، وعلم اللغة النفسي، وعلم الأصول العرقية للموسيقى، والدراسات الثقافية، والدراسات المشتركة بين الثقافات، والدراسات الشاملة للثقافات، ودراسات المرأة، والدراسات الحضرية، والدراسات الأمريكية حسب ما ذكر في (كلين، 1990). بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تتراوح المواضيع من: الترجمة ودراسات النوع الاجتماعي، واستراتيجيات مواجهة الشذوذ/التحيز على أساس الجنس في الترجمة، والترجمة من الأخلاقيات إلى الرقابة...إلى الترجمة والدراسات بين الثقافات، والعلوم والتكنولوجيا، والترجمة الاقتصادية، والجريمة في الترجمة، إلى قضايا أخرى.
  • عرض المفاهيم: (المحاضر/المدرب/ والطالب/المتدرب) في مجال الترجمة والذي يؤكد على الحاجة إلى إعادة التفكير بطريقة بناء المنهج أو خطة المادة.
 أهمية تحديد علاقة الترجمة بالتخصصات الأخرى، واللغويات بشكل خاص وهيمنة التخصصات الأخرى على الترجمة.
النتيجة
  • الترجمة هي حقل متعدد التخصصات ويعد تداخل الترجمة مع أغلب حقول المعرفة الأخرى مفاهيم ديناميكيا آخذا في التطور وسائدة الآن في المجال الأكاديمي. ما زال الكثير من الباحثين يستخدمون مصطلح تعدد التخصصات بشكل سطحي غير مدركين لدور الدمج وهدفه منذ العام 1990 (بداية الألفية الجديدة)، حيث شهد عالمنا الذي تسيطر عليه العولمة تغييرات ملحوظة على جميع المستويات.
  • لم يشهد الاقتصاد تغييرات رئيسية في القرن الحادي والعشرين فقط، وإنما طالت التغيرات قطاع التعليم وقطاع التعليم العالي أيضاً حيث استخدم المنهج متعدد التخصصات في تدريس الترجمة وحدث تحول كبير من التعليم إلى التعلم.
  • وذلك يعني أنَّ عملية التعليم يجب أن تستهدف عملية التعلم الفردي، حيث يؤدي المعلم/المدرب دور الميسر بشكل رئيسي.
  • ويعني ذلك ضمناً أنَّ الطالب/المتدرب هو في صميم عملية التعليم وليس المدرب/المعلم، ويساعد الأخير بشكل رئيسي في نقل المهارات والمعارف ويشرح طريقة دمج المعارف الجديدة مع المعارف الحالية وأكبر قدر ممكن من الاستنتاج.
  • بعبارة أخرى، يجب على الكثير من المدربين تغيير طريقتهم في التدريس ويجب عليهم تنظيم صفوفهم أيضاً.
  • أما بالنسبة للبحث العلمي، يمكن أن تساعدنا تعدد التخصصات استغلال النتائج بشكل أفضل عن طريق دمج المعارف المستمدة من التخصصات الملحقة من خلال مسارات جديدة للعمليات والممارسات في حدود اللغة، والجسد، والقانون، والدولة ليتم التنظير لها والبحث بها بشكل فعال واستعراض نتائج البحث وتقييمها بأكثر من لغة. ويمكن أن يكون من المهم إعادة التفكير بنشر السياسات ونوع المجلات الأكاديمية التي ينشر فيها المترجمون أبحاثهم عن طريق التشجيع في الحقول اللغوية غير المطروقة.
نقاش
جرى نقاش مثمر بعد الحلقة الدراسية بين أعضاء هيئة التدريس فيما يتعلق بالترجمة كحقل لغوي.
تحدث الأستاذ الدكتور رسول الخفاجي حول أهمية اللغويات في الترجمة في ضوء الطبيعة متعددة التخصصات للترجمة.